Animal Farm

Just starting at this and I don’t know what I am doing.  I always believed e-mail was enough to keep up the communication however since I’ve been bombarded with the prospect of an Industrial Wind Development, it was suggested to me to start blogging and relating what I have learnt about this so called green phenomena in my last 2 years of researching about wind energy.

As you can see from my site name, I feel as though I have become less than a valued person in my community.  In dealing with wind developers and gov’t agencies,  it’s become pretty apparent that rural folk such as myself are not treated with the same distinction that my urban friends receive.  In fact an old class mate of mine (who is working for a gov’t agency)  even said  “I understand people’s frustration and yet have come to realize that we can’t continue living “unsustainably”; tough choices have to be made and regrettably there will be sacrifices made by a minority to achieve results for the majority”. 

Am I living on “Animal Farm”???

The proof of this was when my county started developing set-backs for wind turbines.  It starts off with 1.25 times the height (usually 150 m) of a turbine away from provincial roads and railways.  From there, a requirement of 1 km is stipulated from a settlement area (town, hamlet etc).  Now for us people having to live next to turbines, the stipulation is a minimum of 450 metres (that’s in my municipality,  others have a min. of 300m)   I’m told that the 1 km requirement is for settlement expansion,  but does that mean urban houses will be built to within the 450 m distance???  It will be interesting to see if that comes true.  I have still to find the scientific data which stipulates that 450 or 300 m is O.K.  This is strictly a distance that has been stipulated by the wind industry.  Just so that you know.

6 responses to “Animal Farm

  1. Hi there and congratulations on your blog. I would like to comment on the words of your friend who works in a government agency. This person said, in effect, that tough actions must be taken to make our lives here on the planet more sustainable, and that some of us will have to take the bite in order for the majority to make gains. I take exception to this person’s moral framework. I feel that the most ethical way to proceed with justice issues is to always make sure that people have informed choice, and that these dissents are taken seriously. People should have a say in whether or not they will suffer for the greater good, rather than the program of the greater good being forced upon them. The wind development I live in was pronounced to the lease holders and municipal leaders before it was fully and fairly disclosed to the affected residents. There was no opportunity to agree to be residents in a wind farm development, to be participants in an experiment which might contribute to our ecological crisis and which might in some way endanger our families in the process. We are made invisible in the process and this is wrong. The cloak of the benign, the edict of ‘all renewables are safe’, were upon us from the beginning. I believe that the process of optioning land and zoning industrial wind has to date shown every lack of just and ethical measure to ensure that those who will bear the effects are sufficienty informed, considered and respected. The moral fibre of a society will be always be determined by its willingness to extend democratic rights to their fullest potential, and in this way, give people the opportunity to consent or dissent to industrial initiatives which promise to further the greater good at their expense.

  2. essexcountywind

    Great post, Catherine. We live in a twisted world. People think they are being morally superior by promoting a shallow agenda without thought to how it affects children, families and human rights.

    The ironic thing is wind power is all about money…and very little to do with the environment.

  3. Kent Hawkins

    Although I write to local papers about the problems with industrial wind plants, I have to pass on a comment by another person that recently was published in the Picton Gazette. It sums up our difficulties rather well. Here it is.
    “Ultimately the burden for expertise is placed upon the individual citizen, as citizen groups form and appeal for intelligent decisions of politicians.”

  4. Well Done! Hopefully more people get “up to speed” in finding the “Truth” about what is really going on here. I too didn’t know that much about Wind Power until May of this year and once I started reading stories about what others have gone through in the past and what they are up against I got involved. Does the phrase “Gold Rush” come to mind here?. We all read stories of how rather ordinary people went literally crazy with the promise of untold riches could be had for relatively little effort and we all know how the old Gold Rush days in North America played out. The so-called Green Wind Industry has been handed billions of our tax dollars to supply energy in a time of need and they are laying waste huge tracts of beautiful land all in the name of “Green Energy”. Without going off on a tangent here stating figures and specifics I also have started a blog and website that may help people see the big picture. Only an informed individual may comment with confidence on this huge devastating power grab by big industry. Please refer to my sites: http://wilnowind.blogspot.com and http://mvwind.forumer.com

  5. Welcome to the world of WIND
    In order to understand what is behind the removal of your basic rights you need to understand who and what it behind the green movement.
    It is not about sustainably, it is about power.

    If you haven’t read the Green Agenda (found on my blog or google it)I suggest you take some time and study it. It should answer many of your questions about the planning process and the wind industry.

    I can hardly wait for the “smart meters”. That might just wake up the general public.

    A nation of sheep will beget a govt. of wolves
    – Edward R Murrow

  6. A wise man once said that wind energy is a red herring hidden inside a pork barrel. Pretty much sums it up in one sentence.

Leave a Reply

